New Beginnings…….

IMG_2610

Starting in a new school is exciting, exhilarating and terrifying all at the same time. So many questions! So many things to consider…….What are the non-negotiables mine and the community I am serving. What are the personalities and strengthens of my staff? What are the needs of the community? Who are my students? What is my purpose? Why have I been sent to lead this school?

On our last day this year I sat in a meeting with my new staff, listening to their concerns, their challenges and their successes. Where do they want their school to go, where do they want to go in their own professional development?

As a leader in a new school what do I do right now? Listen, observe, prioritize and reflect.

This summer I will take some time to read, reflect, build relationships, gather information and wait wondering what new information the fall will bring.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *